

KIMBERLY YEE





IN HONOR AND RECOGNITION OF THE 151st ANNIVERSARY OF THE NAVAJO TREATY OF 1868 "NAALSTOOS SÁNÍ"

WHEREAS, on June 1, 1868, a delegation of Navajo leaders signed a "treaty and agreement" with the United States of America known as the "Navajo Treaty of 1868,"

WHEREAS, the "Navajo Treaty of 1868," ensured that the Navajo people, otherwise known as the Diné, were to return to their traditional homelands to what is now known as the four corners region of Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and New Mexico,

WHEREAS, the "Navajo Treaty of 1868," established a formal Government-to-Government relationship between the Navajo Nation and the United States federal government, otherwise known as tribal sovereignty,

WHEREAS, the Navajo Nation began a Government-to-Government relationship with the State of Arizona on February 14, 1912 during the establishment of Arizona's Statehood,

WHEREAS, the Navajo Nation is the only Indian Tribe in the State of Arizona to sign a treaty with the United States of America,

WHEREAS, the "Navajo Treaty of 1868," established the Navajo reservation, schools, protection and grazing lands for livestock to sustain the Diné way of life,

WHEREAS, the Navajo Nation is the largest Tribal Nation in the State of Arizona by population and reservation land size,

WHEREAS, June 1, 2019 marks the 151st anniversary of the long-lasting relationship between the Navajo Nation and the United States of America,

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Kimberly Yee, Treasurer of the State of Arizona, do hereby recognize June 1, 2019 as the

151st ANNIVERSARY OF THE NAVAJO TREATY OF 1868

and urge leaders throughout the state to observe the significance of today for our state and for our country.

CONTROL OF THE STATE OF THE STA

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of Arizona,

Treasurer

DONE at the Office of the Arizona State Treasurer in Phoenix, Arizona on this first day of June in the year two thousand and nineteen.